The Jo-Ann Karst Memorial Excellence In Education Leadership Award


Jo-Ann Karst (1958-2004) was an excellent teacher and administrator. She exhibited qualities that promoted teaching excellence for students of Miyo Wahkohtowin Education's schools. In her role at MWE, she promoted the vision that students attending Ermineskin schools are given the best possible opportunities to realize their full potential by promoting education and learning. Special education services, reading readiness and curriculum alignment were her areas of expertise and commitment.

Jo-Ann was employed with MWE in several capacities: teacher, counsellor, special education coordinator, Director of Student Services and Acting Director of Education.

MWE and Intellimedia Inc. sponsor the annual award in memory of Jo-Ann Karst.

The Award

The Jo-Ann Karst Memorial Award for Excellence in Education Leadership is an award given to an excellent educator in the Ermineskin schools.

Please nominate a colleague based on the following:

a. Instructional Effectiveness and Support of Students
Innovative teaching strategies, alternative assessment methods, creating a good learning environment for all students, accessible to students in and out of classroom, etc.
b. Professional Involvement and Professional Development/Renewal Activities
c. Service to MWE
Committed to service for the authority in dedication while displaying the following attributes:

  1. An infectious sense of humor
  2. High energy
  3. Positive attitude
  4. A belief that our children have the intelligence and ability to learn
  5. Sets high standards for herself and others
  6. Respects and is respected by all

Nominees must be employees of MWE. Nominees must have at least 3 years of full time employment. Individuals can be selected for the award once every 4 years.

Nominations must include:

  1. A cover letter from the nominator addressing the three criteria noted above.
  2. A completed nomination form

Only the two items above will be used to determine the chosen nominee.

The Director of Education will receive the completed nomination forms and the cover letters.

The Superintendent of Schools will receive the completed nomination forms and the cover letters by Monday, June 13, 2016.

The ad-hoc committee in charge of the memorial award will select the recipient of the award from the completed nominations received by the Superintendent of Schools.

The $1,000 award will be presented at the Annual Staff Appreciation Day.

List of Recepients:

  • Shauna Smith (2015)
  • Wendy Solland (2014)
  • Rebecca Rudkowski (2013)
  • Patti Johnson (2012)
  • Debbie Michael (2011)
  • Betty Soosay (2010)
  • Jim Hagerty (2009)
  • Henderson Best (2008)
  • Rob Hempstock (2007)
  • Ramona Washburn (2006)
  • Sanila Mehal (2005)


As sure as a gun, there are numerous factors you must view about your health. All discount medicines save money, but best companies offer better deals than others. Patients must always ask sexual physic specialist for medicinal consultation about the treatment. If you are going to order Cialis, you probably want to know about click here. Find out more through the links below. When you order drugs like Cialis you have to ask your pharmacist about "read more". The very significant aspect you have to look for is "". Cialis has been demonstrated to be effectual in men of various nationalities. Keeping this information in mind, do some research to see if a company offering discount medications could be the right fit for you to help your family save money on valuable medicine.